Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Research Areas

Sharing Economy

Nowadays, apartments, cars, shared rides as well as products and services of various types are rented, traded, gifted, or sold between private persons (peer to peer) via Internet platforms. While some people expect the sharing economy to be a global mega trend in which resources are preserved and interpersonal relationships are turned into (economical) capital, others describe the sharing economy as a mere transmission of the “flea market principle” into the age of information and mobile technology, in which prices rule. Besides many obvious benefits of the sharing economy, social risks (e.g., the creation of precarious working conditions, circumvention of sovereign regulation, and commercialization of formerly social actions) need to be considered. The term "sharing economy" itself is already misleading as most successful concepts and markets mainly deal with selling and renting. On such peer-to-peer platforms, trust between users is an essential aspect. Our research team analyses offers, concepts, mechanisms, challenges, and current developments in the sharing economy from a theoretical and practical point of view, by means of models, empirical data analyses, surveys, and economic experiments.

 

Crowd...

Crowdworking, crowdsourcing and crowdfunding are concepts, which have gained in importance in recent years due to the development of the Internet and which will become even more important in the future. All concepts share that Internet users participate in the creation of projects, either through paid workforce (crowdworking), unpaid workforce (crowdsourcing, e.g. Wikipedia) or through investments (crowdfunding). Crowdworking is known from platforms such as Amazon Mechanical Turk (AMT), Clickworker or Task Rabbit, on which thousands of people worldwide accomplish so-called micro tasks for low wages. Providers as for example Streetspotr apply this principle to mobile devices. Other platforms such as InnoCentive or 99designs specifically contact creative people which compete against each other with design-ideas to get the contract for a project. Indeed, well-structured and separable tasks can be accomplished cost-effectively, fast and with high quality through crowdworking platforms. In the area of crowdfunding, we both examine platforms in which it is about to supply interest-free micro loans (e.g. KIVA) and platforms on which investors either receive interests or rewards (e.g. kickstarter). A reward could for example be that one's name is listed in the credits of a movie. Our research team investigates the cohesion between the factors motivation, achieved quality, users' risk aversion, and decision-making processes as well as the design of platforms and processes itself.

 

Energy revolution

The energy revolution covers the social and technological change in shaping the future energy system. Decentralized electricity production (based on photovoltaic, wind power and biomass) and e-mobility become increasingly important. Appropriate organizational, economical, and technical solutions, are required for a successful decentralization of the energy system. Local, energy markets are an implementation of successful decentralization.

 

Digitization

The Internet of things (IoT) arises from digitization and the technological interconnectedness which enables the management and controllability of complex systems and structures (Industry 4.0). Industry 4.0 is characterized not only by individualization and hybridization of products but also by the integration of customers and business partners in the business processes. Embedded systems as well as (semi-)autonomous machines, moving around in their environments without human control and making individual decisions, only represent the tip of the iceberg. Blockchain technology provides a new way to manage such systems without the need for a trusted central integration point. For a wide range of applications, digitization, the Internet of Things and Industry 4.0 enable an evolutionary improvement and automation of business and production processes and therefore an increase in efficiency.  


Blockchain Technology

The blockchain is a distributed ledger that enables the storage of a tamper-free and non-reversible data record and provides a way to reach a consensus on the order of the stored data between agents with conflicting interests. The data is time-stamped and structured in interconnected blocks which, can contain either raw data or sophisticated computer programs, called smart contracts. Since its introduction in 2008, the concept emerged from its use as a verification mechanism for cryptocurrencies and now heads to a broader field of economic and market-based applications. In total, blockchain solutions enable new forms of decentralized markets and distributed software architectures, that allow conflicting market participants, components, or subsystems to find an agreement on a shared state of the system without the need for a trusted central party or institution. In addition, smart contracts facilitate the execution of complex computer programs operating on a distributed world computer. In the context of financial markets, visions of decentralized stock markets or clearing and settlement of securities transactions without the involvement of a central counterparty call disruptive changes and challenge the prevalent structure of financial markets. Other potential applications of distributed ledger technologies are digital currencies, digital records of ownership, decentralized market platforms, as well as digital proof of identity and recommender systems.  


Data Science

Data science deals with the extraction of knowledge from data. Therefore, methods from statistics, machine learning, information theory, visualization, artificial intelligence, and further disciplines are used. The objective is to create predictive models which are able to illustrate interdependences with a high prediction accuracy. In addition to the modeling of interdependences, concrete recommendations for actions should be provided.

 

User Experience

User experience describes the total experience persons gain while interacting with products and services. Our research takes a broader view on this term and additionally considers changes in the user experience caused by market regulations. Mostly, the term user experience is used in the area of human-machine interactions, especially when people interact with websites or applications. User experience goes beyond user acceptance which refers to perceived utility and user friendliness and therefore only concentrates on cognitive experiences. In contrast, user experience also covers feelings such as happiness and frustration or reactions as for example trust or the creation of a 'flow'. Such facets of user experience can be examined using methods from the area of neurological information systems (Neuro-IS), as for instance by measuring neurophysiological parameters and eye movements with eye-tracking systems.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Forschungsthemen

Sharing Economy

Über das Internet werden heute Wohnungen, Autos, Mitfahrgelegenheiten, sowie Produkte und Dienstleistungen aller Art von Privat zu Privat vermittelt. Einige sehen in dieser Sharing Economy einen globalen Megatrend, bei dem Ressourcen geschont werden und zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen auch ökonomisch an Bedeutung gewinnen. Andere sehen lediglich die Übertragung des Prinzips „Flohmarkt“ ins Zeitalter von Web und Apps, bei dem vor allem der Preis entscheidet. Neben den vielen offensichtlichen Chancen der Sharing Economy bestehen gesellschaftliche Risiken (Schaffung prekärer Arbeitsbedingungen, Umgehung geltender Regulierung, Kommerzialisierung von ehemals sozialen/freundschaftlichem Handeln), die stets berücksichtigt werden müssen. Dabei ist der Begriff „Sharing Economy“ an sich schon irreführend, denn es geht bei den erfolgreichsten Konzepten und Märkten zumeist schlicht um Verkauf oder Vermietung. Auf Ebene solcher Peer-to-Peer-Markt-Plattformen wiederum ist Vertrauen zwischen den Nutzern ein wesentlicher Aspekt. Unsere Forschungsgruppe analysieren Angebote, Konzepte, Wirkungsmechanismen, Herausforderungen und aktuelle Entwicklungen in der Sharing Economy aus theoretischer und praktischer Sicht mit Modellen, empirischen Datenanalysen und wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Experimenten.

 

Crowd...

Crowdworking, Crowdsourcing und Crowdfunding sind Konzepte, die durch das Internet in den letzten Jahren enorm an Bedeutung gewonnen haben und auch zukünftig noch wichtiger werden. Allen Konzepten ist gemein, dass sich Internetnutzer an der Entstehung von Projekten partizipieren, sei es durch eigene bezahlte Arbeitskraft (Crowdworking), durch meist unbezahlte Arbeitskraft (Crowdsourcing, z.B. Wikipedia) oder durch Investments (Crowdfunding). Crowdworking beispielsweise kennen wir von Plattformen wie Amazon Mechanical Turk (AMT), Clickworker oder Task Rabbit, die sogenannte Microtasks von einem Heer weltweit agierender Arbeiter zu sehr niedrigen Stundenlöhnen erledigen lassen. Anbieter wie Streetspotr  übertragen dieses Prinzip auf mobile Geräte. Andere Plattformen wie InnoCentive oder 99designs wenden sich gezielt an Kreative, die mit ihren Design-Ideen um den Projektzuschlag konkurrieren. Tatsächlich lassen sich gut strukturier- und teilbare Aufgaben kostengünstig, schnell und in hoher Qualität über CrowdWork-Plattformen erledigen. Im Bereich des Crowdfunding untersuchen wir sowohl Plattformen in denen es um die zinsfreie Vergabe von Mikrokrediten geht (z.B. KIVA) als auch Plattformen, in denen die Geldgeber entweder Zinsen oder so-gennannte Rewards erhalten (z.B. Kickstarter). Ein Reward kann z.B. die Nennung des eigenen Namens im Abspann eines Filmprojektes sein. Unsere Forschung untersucht die Zusammenhänge zwischen den Faktoren Motivation, erzielter Qualität, Risikoaversion der Nutzer und Entscheidungsprozesse sowie die Gestaltung der Plattform und des Prozesses an sich.

 

Energiewende

Die Energiewende umfasst den gesellschaftlichen und technologischen Wandel bei der Gestaltung des zukünftigen Energiesystems. Dezentrale Stromerzeugung (basierend auf Photovoltaik, Windkraft und Biomasse) und Elektromobilität erlangt wachsende Bedeutung. Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Dezentralisierung des Energiesystems sind entsprechende organisatorische, ökonomische und technische Lösungen. Lokale Energiemärkte sind eine Umsetzung dieser Dezentralisierung.

 

Digitalisierung

Aus Digitalisierung und damit möglicher  Technologievernetzung erwächst das Interne der Dinge (IoT) das im industriellen Rahmen - Stichwort Industrie 4.0, das Management und die Beherrschbarkeit komplexerer Systeme und Strukturen ermoeglicht. Industrie 4.0 zeichnet sich einerseits durch Individualisierung und Hybridisierung von Produkten, andererseits durch Integration von Kunden und Geschäftspartnern in Geschäftsprozesse aus. Eingebettete Systeme sowie (teil-)autonome Maschinen, die sich ohne menschliche Steuerung durch ihre Umgebungen bewegen und dabei selbstständig Entscheidungen treffen stellen nur die Spitze des Eisbergs dar. Mit Hilfe der Blockchain ist es außerdem möglich solche Systeme ohne zentrale Integrationspunkte zu steuern und zu organisieren. In der breiteren Anwendung ermöglicht Digitalisierung, das Internet der Dinge und Industrie 4.0 eine evolutionäre Verbesserung und Automatisierung von Geschäfts- und Produktionsprozessen und damit verbundene Effizienzsteigerung.


Blockchain-Technologie

Die Blockchain bietet als dezentrales Datenbanksystem (Distributed Ledger) die Möglichkeit in einer konfliktbehafteten Umgebung Daten zeitlich geordnet, irreversibel und transparent zu speichern. Die Ablage der Daten erfolgt in Form von verknüpften Pakten oder Blöcken, die sowohl einfache Informationen, als auch komplexe Programme – sogenannte Smart Contracts – enthalten können. Aus einer anwendungstechnischen Perspektive lassen sich blockchain-basierte Systeme auch als First-to-File Systeme beschreiben. Während die Blockchain zunächst als Verifikationsmechanismus für Cryptowährungen zum Einsatz kam, ist sie dieser Verwendung entwachsen und gewinnt im Rahmen ökonomischer und betriebswirtschaftlicher Anwendungen zunehmend an Bedeutung. In diesem Kontext entstehen neue Formen dezentralisierter Markmodelle und verteilter Softwarearchitekturen, die in der Lage sind Interessenkonflikte zwischen Marktteilnehmern oder Komponenten ohne die Intervention einer zentralen Institution zu lösen und einen systemweiten Konsens über den aktuellen Systemzustand zu schaffen. Mögliche Anwendungsbereiche der Technologie sind u.a. digitale Währungen, elektronische Register zur Erfassung Eigentumsverhältnissen, dezentralisierte Marktplattformen und Handelssysteme, der Handel und die Abwicklung von Finanzgeschäften, sowie digitale Identitätsnachweise und Reputationssysteme.


Data Science

Data Science beschäftigt sich mit der Extraktion von Wissen aus Daten. Dazu kommen Methoden aus der Statistik und dem maschinellen Lernen, der Informationstheorie, der Visualisierung, der künstlichen Intelligenz und weiteren Bereichen zum Einsatz. Ziel ist die Erstellung prädikativer Modelle die Wirkzusammenhänge abbilden können und hohe Vorhersagegüte besitzen. Über die Modellierung von Wirkzusammenhängen hinaus sollen konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen gegeben werden.

 

User Experience

User Experience beschreibt die gesamte Erfahrung, die Benutzer bei der Interaktion mit Produkten und Dienstleistungen erleben. Unsere Forschung fasst den Begriff etwas weiter und betrachtet auch die User Experience, die durch (Markt-)Regeln hervorgerufen wird. Meist verwendet man den Begriff im Bereich der Mensch-Maschine Interaktion, insbesondere bei der Interkation von Menschen mit Webseiten oder Apps. Die User Experience geht dabei über die User Acceptance hinaus, die sich oft auf die wahrgenommene Nützlichkeit und Bedienfreundlichkeit und somit nur auf das kognitive Erleben konzentriert. Im Gegensatz dazu rücken bei User Experience auch Gefühle wie Freude und Frust oder auch Reaktionen wie Vertrauen oder die Erzeugung eines „Flows“ in den Fokus. Solche Facetten der User Experience können unter anderem gut mit Methoden aus dem Gebiet der Neuro-Informationssysteme (Neuro-IS), zum Beispiel durch die Messung von neurophysiologischen Parametern und von Blickbewegungen mittels Eye-Tracking untersucht werden.