Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

LAMP Projekt

LAMP Projekt
Contact:Esther Marie Mengelkamp
Partner:LO3 ENERGY  Energie Südwest
Download Flyer                                                       Download Postcard                                                            Download Poster

In the context of the German energy transition (“Energiewende”), the portion of the renewable energy generation increases fast in Germany. Renewable power plants should generate at least 60% of the electricity consumption by 2035. Nevertheless, renewable energy sources are difficult to control and provide challenges to the electricity networks in more ways than conventional, more controllable sources. A simple replacement would cause a massive and cost-intensive network expansion. An alternative is the development of a more decentralized power supply in which consumption and generation are balanced on a local level. Small producers such as photovoltaic plants on house roofs, wind power plants or block-type thermal power stations are directly connected to the distribution grid.

 

 

In recent years, this decentralized expansion has gained momentum due to technologic advances (e.g. advances in PV technology), as well as political decisions (the federal government climate goals). As a result, 1.5 million photovoltaic systems and 25,000 wind turbines, owned by German citizens, are now involved in electricity generation. However, unlike operators of large power plants, the owners of these small plants are not allowed to actively participate in the energy market.

Energy markets are still aligned to sales on an international and national level. Therefore, no practical knowledge about whether these market mechanisms would work for smaller regional and local energy markets exists yet.

This is exactly where we step in:

  • LAMP is a pilot and research project of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in cooperation with the energy retailer Energie Südwest AG and the hardware and software company LO3 Energy.
  • We provide 20 households with a blockchain-based trading platform. Thus, the locally produced green energy can be traded among each other.
  • Via an app, the households can adjust their personal electricity mix, according to their individual price setting for locally generated renewable energy, and can also sell their generated energy. The trading itself is handled on the platform by automatic agents in the background.
  • Generation and consumption data are collected via special smart meters and stored on a blockchain. The app also gives each participant access to their individual trading and load data.
  • We examine the resulting market prices for locally produced electricity from renewable energy sources, the market mechanism and the acceptance of the participants of local energy markets.

LAMP is the first implementation of a local energy market in Germany. The project is based on the Pioneer project of the Brooklyn Microgrids (https://www.brooklyn.energy/) and is leading the decentralization of the energy markets in the course of the energy spills of Germany. More information about LAMP can be found here.

We would be delighted if you would support our research on local energy markets. Please take part in our 10-minute survey on local energy markets. The survey can be found here.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

LAMP Projekt

LAMP Projekt
Ansprechpartner:Esther Marie Mengelkamp
Partner:LO3 ENERGY, Energie Südwest
Download Flyer                                                       Download Postkarte                                                           Download Poster

Im Zuge der Energiewende wird die erneuerbare Energieerzeugung in Deutschland mehr und mehr ausgebaut. 2035 sollen so mindestens 60% des Stromverbrauchs aus erneuerbaren Erzeugungsanlagen generiert werden. Diese sind jedoch schwer steuerbar und belasten die Netze stärker als konventionelle Anlagen. Der einfache Austausch würde einen massiven und kostenintensiven Netzausbau verursachen. Eine Alternative dazu ist der Ausbau einer dezentralen Stromversorgung, in dem Verbrauch und Erzeugung nah beieinanderliegen. Erzeuger wie Photovoltaikanlagen auf Hausdächern, Windkraftanlagen oder Blockheizkraftwerke werden hierbei direkt ans Verteilnetz angeschlossen.

 

In den letzten Jahren wurde dieser dezentrale Ausbau sowohl technologisch (z. B. Fortschritte in der PV-Technologie), als auch politisch (Klimaziele der Bundesregierung), beschleunigt. Dadurch sind inzwischen 1,5 Millionen PV-Anlagen und 25000 Windkraftanlagen von deutschen Bürgern an der Stromerzeugung beteiligt. Anders als Betreiber von großen Kraftwerken ist es jedoch den Besitzern von diesen kleinen Anlagen nicht erlaubt, aktiv am Energiemarkt teilzunehmen.

Dieser ist bis heute auf den Großhandel auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene ausgerichtet. Es gibt daher kein praktisches Wissen darüber, ob die erprobten Marktmechanismen auch für kleinere regionale und lokale Energiemärkte funktionieren würden.

Genau hier greifen wir ein:

  •  LAMP ist ein Pilot- und Forschungsprojekt des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Energieversorger Energie Südwest AG und der Hard- und Softwarefirma LO3 Energy.
  • •Wir stellen 20 Haushalten eine blockchainbasierte Handelsplattform zur Verfügung. Auf dieser kann der lokal erzeugte, grüne Strom untereinander gehandelt werden.
  • Jeder Teilnehmer erhält über eine App Zugang zu seine Stromverbrauchs- und -erzeugungsdaten. Diese werden über spezielle blockchain-fähige Smart Meter erfasst.
  • Über die App können die Haushalte ihre Preisvorstellungen für lokal erzeugte Energie aus erneuerbaren Quellen angeben. Der Handel auf der lokalen Handelsplattform läuft über automatische Agenten ab.
  • Wir untersuchen die sich ergebenden Marktpreise für lokal erzeugten Strom aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen, den Marktmechanismus und die Akzeptanz der Teilnehmer für lokale Energiemärkte.
LAMP ist die erste Implementation eines lokalen Energiemarkts in Deutschland. Das Projekt baut auf dem Pioneerprojekt des Brooklyn Microgrids (https://www.brooklyn.energy/) auf und bringt die Dezentralisierung der Energiemärkte im Zuge der Energiewende von Deutschland voran. Mehr Informationen zu LAMP finden Sie hier.

Wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie unsere Forschung zu lokalen Energiemärkten unterstützen. Bitte nehmen Sie an unserer 10-minütigen Umfrage zu lokalen Energiemärkten teil. Die Umfrage finden Sie hier.